Gov. Kristi Noem signs 'constitutional carry' bill into law

 Photo courtesy of SDBA
Photo courtesy of SDBA (KSFY)
Published: Jan. 31, 2019 at 12:32 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Gov. Kristi Noem has signed a measure allowing people to carry concealed pistols without a permit in South Dakota.

The Republican governor on Thursday approved the measure, making it the first bill Noem has signed into law. Noem says it will further protect the Second Amendment rights of the citizens of South Dakota and the nation.

It's a win for conservatives who have long pushed the proposal, which languished under former Gov. Dennis Daugaard.

It's currently a misdemeanor for someone to carry a concealed pistol or to have one concealed in a vehicle without a permit.

The South Dakota Sheriffs' Association opposed the measure, contending current limitations under the permit process are reasonable.

The law will take effect July 1. South Dakota will join at least 13 states that allow the practice.

(Copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

 In addition to SB47, Noem signed the following pieces of legislation Thursday:

  • HB1004 – An act to review parole date calculation provisions
  • HB1006 – An act to revise the time requirements for parole reports and plans
  • HB1016 – An act to revise certain provisions of the alcoholic beverages code
  • HB1030 – An act to allow the Office of School and Public Lands to accept internet bidding for the leasing of state minerals
  • HB1002 – An act to provide for criminal background checks for certain applicants and employees of the Department of Public Safety
  • HB1005 – An act to authorize a hearing panel of the Board of Pardons and Paroles to make clemency recommendations
  • HB1017 – An act to provide for the destruction of certain cigarettes
  • SB0026 – An act to clarify certain provisions regarding the regulation of limited gaming in Deadwood, South Dakota
  • SB0013 – An act to revise certain provisions regarding authorization for transportation assistance grants